Gabriel FAURE

Requiem op.48

Adaptation for small orchestra by Laurent Beeckmans

Score (97 pages) and parts

Click to enlarge

The aim of this edition of Fauré's Requiem is to make the work suitable for small orchestra having little string or wind sections.

In the original symphonic version, the violas and cellos are divided in two groups and the violins are only used in 4 of the 7 mouvements ; the winds require 2 flutes (only used in the Pie Jesu), 2 trumpets (scarsely used in movements I and III), 3 trombones (only used in Libera Me) and 4 horns (3rd and 4th often doubling the 1st and 2nd).

In this edition, the strings are rewritten in a more conventional manner with a limited use of divisi among them. The winds only require 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons and 2 horns. The harp and organ parts are unchanged from the original version.

Buy a Digital Copy

Available instantly - The PDF files will be sent to your email address after payment